In this blog, I’m explaining about assembly in .Net


An assembly is grouping of files deployed as a single file. An assembly almost always consists of at least two files:

1)      Executable

2)       Manifest.

Assemblies are the building blocks of .NET framework application. During compile time Metadata is create with Microsoft Intermediate language (MSIL) and store in a file called assembly manifest. Both Metadata and Microsoft Intermediate language (MSIL) wrapped in a portable Executable file.

 The manifest is a list of all the files that exist inside the assembly.

Conceptually, modules correspond to DLLs or EXEs; each module contains metadata, in addition to the metadata of its parent assembly. The assembly format is an enhanced version of the current Portable Executable (PE) format. 

 Note: Each Assembly can have only one entry point (that is, DllMain, WinMain, or Main).

Types Of assembly

1.  Shared assembly

2.  Private assembly

3. Satellite assembly

Private assembly

 A private Assembly is used only by single application. It is generally stored in application root folder.


Shared assembly

 A shared Assembly is one that can be referenced by more than on application. If multiple applications need to access an assembly.


Satellite Assembly 

 A Satellite Assembly contains only static objects like images and other non-executable files required by the application.





Leave Comment