A software development life cycle is the series of identifiable stage that a software product undergoes during its lifetime. The final stage in the life cycle of any software product is usually the feasibility stage.

A software development life cycle is often called a software development life cycle (SDLC).

The different stages are:-

1. Feasibility study
2. Requirement Analysis and specification
3. Design
4. Coding
5. Testing 
6. Maintenance

1.Feasibility study:- The main aim of feasibility study activity is to determine whether it would be financially and Technically feasible to develop the product. It involves the analysis of the problems and collection of all relevant information relating to the product such as the different data items would be input to the system, the processing required on these data and output to be produced by the system.

2.Requirement Analysis and specification:- The aim of requirement analysis is to understand the exact requirement of the customer and is begun by collecting all relevant data regarding the product to be developed for the customer of the product.

The goal of requirement specification phase is to produce the software requirement specification document (SRS). The SRS document produce at the end of this phase is also called the black box specification of the problem. As in this document, the system is considered as the black box, whose external behavior is only specified and the internal details are not known.

3.Design phase:- The goal of a design phase is to transform the requirements specified in the SRS documents in the structure, that is suitable for implementation in some programming language.

4.Design phase has two different design approaches:-

1.Traditional design approaches.
2.Object oriented design approaches.

1.Traditional design approaches:- It consist of two different activities:- 

a.Architectural design:- It involves decomposing the system into modules and representing the interphase and relationship among the modules.
b.Detailed design:- In this internals of the individuals modules are designed in greater detail.

2.Object oriented design approach:- In these techniques various objects that occur in the problem domain and solution domain are first identified and different relationship that exists that among these objects are identified.

4. Coding and Unit Testing:- The purpose of the coding and unit testing phase of software development is to translate the software design into source code. During this phase, each the module is unit tested to determine the correct working of all the individual modules.

5.Integration and System testing:- During the integration and system testing phase the modules are integrated with a planned. At each step the partially integrated system is tested and set of previous modules are added to it.

You can also check this helpful related articles---
  Modified On Mar-17-2018 03:22:33 AM

Leave Comment