SQLite is a single-threaded database engine, which means that only one user can access the database at a time. This makes it easy to handleconcurrency and transactionmanagement.
When a user connects to an SQLite database, they are assigned an exclusive lock on the database. This means that no other user can connect to the database until the first user disconnects.
While a user has an exclusive lock on the database, they can perform any operation they want without fear of conflict with other users. This includes reading, writing, and deleting data.
When a user disconnects from an SQLite database, the exclusive lock is released and other users can connect.
This simple concurrency model makes SQLite very easy to use in multi-user environments. However, it also has some limitations. For example, if a user takes a long time to perform an operation, other users will be blocked from accessing the database.
To address this limitation, SQLite supports a feature called "locking hints." Locking hints allow users to specify the level of locking they want to use for a particular operation.
The following locking hints are supported by SQLite:
NONE: This hint tells SQLite not to lock the database at all. This is the default hint.
READ: This hint tells SQLite to lock the database for reading only. Other users can still connect to the database, but they will not be able to write to it.
WRITE: This hint tells SQLite to lock the database for writing. Other users will not be able to connect to the database until the lock is released.
By using locking hints, users can control how their operations affect other users. This can help to improve performance and prevent conflicts in multi-user environments.
In addition to locking hints, SQLite also supports a feature called "transactions." Transactions allow users to group a series of operations together and perform them all as a single unit.
When a transaction is started, SQLite takes an exclusive lock on the database. This prevents other users from accessing the database until the transaction is complete.
Once all of the operations in a transaction have been completed, the transaction is committed. This makes the changes permanent.
If an error occurs during a transaction, the transaction can be rolled back. This will undo all of the changes that were made during the transaction.
Transactions provide a way to ensure the integrity of data in multi-user environments. By using transactions, users can be sure that their changes will be made correctly, even if there are errors or conflicts.
Markdown for AI
A clean, structured version of this page for AI assistants and LLMs.
We use cookies to ensure you have the best browsing experience on our website. By using our site, you
acknowledge that you have read and understood our
Cookie Policy &
Privacy Policy.
SQLite is a single-threaded database engine, which means that only one user can access the database at a time. This makes it easy to handle concurrency and transaction management.
When a user connects to an SQLite database, they are assigned an exclusive lock on the database. This means that no other user can connect to the database until the first user disconnects.
While a user has an exclusive lock on the database, they can perform any operation they want without fear of conflict with other users. This includes reading, writing, and deleting data.
When a user disconnects from an SQLite database, the exclusive lock is released and other users can connect.
This simple concurrency model makes SQLite very easy to use in multi-user environments. However, it also has some limitations. For example, if a user takes a long time to perform an operation, other users will be blocked from accessing the database.
To address this limitation, SQLite supports a feature called "locking hints." Locking hints allow users to specify the level of locking they want to use for a particular operation.
The following locking hints are supported by SQLite:
By using locking hints, users can control how their operations affect other users. This can help to improve performance and prevent conflicts in multi-user environments.
In addition to locking hints, SQLite also supports a feature called "transactions." Transactions allow users to group a series of operations together and perform them all as a single unit.
When a transaction is started, SQLite takes an exclusive lock on the database. This prevents other users from accessing the database until the transaction is complete.
Once all of the operations in a transaction have been completed, the transaction is committed. This makes the changes permanent.
If an error occurs during a transaction, the transaction can be rolled back. This will undo all of the changes that were made during the transaction.
Transactions provide a way to ensure the integrity of data in multi-user environments. By using transactions, users can be sure that their changes will be made correctly, even if there are errors or conflicts.